How Much Does It Cost to Recruit a Life Insurance Agent?

The cost to recruit a life insurance agent can range from the price of a self-managed job post or contact list to thousands of dollars per month for managed outreach or a placement-style fee. The numbers are not directly comparable until you define what is being delivered.

A database record, a candidate reply, a recruiting conversation, a booked interview, a signed contract, an activated agent, and a productive agent are different outcomes.

The most useful cost measure is usually not price per name. It is:

Total recruiting investment ÷ productive agents from that cohort = cost per productive agent

That calculation takes longer, but it exposes whether a low-cost source actually creates economic value.

Start by defining the deliverable

Ask the vendor or internal owner to choose one precise unit:

  • Record: contact information that meets stated data criteria.
  • Lead: a person or account delivered under the vendor's definition; interest may or may not be present.
  • Reply: a response to an outreach attempt.
  • Recruiting conversation: a documented two-way exchange with a prospective agent about an agency opportunity, delivered within an agreed scope; a one-way outreach attempt or raw contact record does not count.
  • Booked appointment: a scheduled event; attendance may or may not be guaranteed.
  • Attended interview: a candidate who actually participates.
  • Contract: a signed agreement, subject to the organization's process.
  • Activated agent: an agent who completes the agency's defined start milestone.
  • Productive agent: an agent who meets a written production standard during a stated period.
  • Placement: a candidate hired or contracted under placement-service terms.

If a proposal uses several of these words interchangeably, stop and clarify the scope before comparing price.

Cost by recruiting model

Job boards

Job boards generally charge for access, posts, clicks, applications, subscriptions, or another platform-defined unit. The agency supplies the role description, handles applicants, screens for license and fit, follows up, interviews, verifies, contracts, and onboards.

Include:

  • media or subscription spend;
  • recruiter or manager time;
  • screening and interview time;
  • unused-applicant volume;
  • software and integration cost;
  • downstream activation and retention.

Job boards can work well when candidates are actively searching and the agency runs a fast, structured process. They are not inherently cheap if managers spend substantial time on low-fit applicants.

Raw licensed-agent lists

List vendors sell data rather than managed recruiting outcomes. Price may be based on a state, license category, record count, or national file.

As one current public example, InsuranceAgentLists.com listed state agent lists at $249 and national Medicare or annuity lists at $3,500 when reviewed on August 31, 2026. Its product is a downloadable data file, so the buyer owns targeting, outreach, deliverability, compliance, follow-up, CRM, and conversion. InsuranceAgentLists.com

Evaluate:

  • update date and source;
  • license and line fields;
  • states covered;
  • email and phone coverage;
  • exclusivity or reuse;
  • replacement/accuracy policy;
  • suppression and opt-out handling;
  • the internal labor required to operate the list.

Recruiting software

Software may combine data, filters, outreach, automation, CRM/ATS stages, scheduling, and reporting. Pricing depends on users, records, sending volume, databases, or bundled services.

The economic question is not only the subscription price. It is whether the agency has the people, process, message, infrastructure, and compliance support to run the system consistently.

Managed outreach or recruiting-lead services

Managed services may build lists, run campaigns, handle replies, or send interested candidates to the agency.

When reviewed on October 1, 2026, Agency Builder Pro’s public homepage displayed two conflicting sets of standard monthly prices: $2,500, $4,000, and $5,000 near the top of the page, and $1,500, $2,700, and $3,500 in its detailed plan table. The same page describes exclusive recruiting leads, licensed-agent targeting, managed outreach, and reply management; booked calls are presented as a custom add-on. It also describes both an approximately one-week campaign start and a separate sending phase near the end of week three or beginning of week four. Buyers should confirm the governing price, deliverable, and launch schedule in writing before purchase. Agency Builder Pro

When comparing managed services, ask:

  • Is the deliverable a record, reply, lead, conversation, or appointment?
  • Who owns sending domains and data?
  • Who writes and approves messaging?
  • How is license status represented and then verified?
  • How fast must the agency respond?
  • Is CRM access included?
  • What happens to nonresponsive candidates?
  • Are there contracts, minimums, or setup periods?
  • What is expressly not guaranteed?

Managed licensed-agent leads

The AgentATM trial provides 50 recruiting leads for $1,500 one-time ($30 per lead). Monthly plans provide 150 leads for $3,500/month, 250 for $5,000/month, or 500 for $8,000/month. For 1,000+ leads, get a custom quote. Plans include alerts, digital setup and recruiting-process guidance to support your agency’s follow-up, with timing and scope defined in your written order terms. Leads are not guaranteed conversations, appointments or hires. AgentATM does not offer lead replacements or credits; your agency works the leads. The optional AgentATM CRM ($500 one-time) supports booking, drip campaigns and follow-up. Renewal, billing and cancellation for monthly plans follow your written order terms.

AgentATM explicitly states that these are not guaranteed hires, appointments, contracts, sales, production, retention, or business outcomes. The agency owns candidate follow-up, evaluation, current licensing and suitability checks, hiring or contracting decisions, onboarding, and leadership. AgentATM starter package · AgentATM FAQ

That public price is most useful when compared with the agency's capacity to contact, work, and convert the leads—not with the price of a raw record.

Placement services

Placement services may charge after a hire, per active agent, or under another outcome-based schedule. When reviewed on October 1, 2026, Amerance Health’s public pricing page listed a standard rate of $150 per active agent per week, with no retainer, no fee for candidates the agency passes on, and no charge while an agent is inactive. It also described a good-faith deposit credited toward the first agents, but did not state the deposit amount on the public pricing page. Amerance says specialty requirements, difficult markets, volume arrangements, and agency-specific factors can change the rate. Its 30-day replacement remedy applies only when a placement fails because of a qualifying Amerance vetting error. Review the current Amerance pricing and guarantee terms.

Review the guarantee definition, replacement conditions, eligible roles, payment duration, candidate ownership, and what happens if an agent contracts but never activates.

Public price examples are not equivalent offers

As of October 1, 2026:

  • InsuranceAgentLists.com: $249 state lists; $3,500 national Medicare or annuity lists. Deliverable: downloadable contact data.
  • AgentATM trial: $1,500 for 50 recruiting leads. Monthly plans: 150 for $3,500/month; 250 for $5,000/month; 500 for $8,000/month. 1,000+ leads: custom quote.
  • Agency Builder Pro: Its public homepage displayed conflicting standard-plan prices when reviewed on October 1, 2026: $2,500/$4,000/$5,000 near the top and $1,500/$2,700/$3,500 in the detailed plan table. Deliverable: managed cold-email outreach and interested licensed-agent leads under plan scope; booked calls are a custom add-on. Confirm current pricing in writing.
  • Amerance Health: Standard rate of $150 per active agent per week, no retainer, plus a good-faith deposit credited toward the first agents; the public pricing page did not state the deposit amount when reviewed. Deliverable: placement-style service; the 30-day replacement remedy is limited to qualifying vetting errors under its published terms.

This is a scope comparison, not a ranking. Prices and terms can change. Review the current vendor page and written agreement before making a decision.

Include the hidden internal cost

Use this formula:

Total recruiting investment = external spend + internal labor + software/infrastructure + creative/data cost + other direct campaign cost

Internal labor should include time spent:

  • selecting and cleaning data;
  • writing roles or outreach;
  • managing deliverability;
  • reviewing candidates;
  • making calls;
  • interviewing;
  • following up;
  • verifying eligibility;
  • contracting and onboarding;
  • reporting.

Do not count every onboarding and training dollar as acquisition cost if the agency measures those separately. Pick a consistent accounting rule and use it across sources.

Calculate cost at every meaningful funnel stage

For one defined cohort and time period:

  • Cost per candidate = total recruiting investment ÷ candidates
  • Cost per conversation = total recruiting investment ÷ conversations
  • Cost per interview = total recruiting investment ÷ attended interviews
  • Cost per contract = total recruiting investment ÷ contracts
  • Cost per activated agent = total recruiting investment ÷ activated agents
  • Cost per productive agent = total recruiting investment ÷ productive agents

Also track conversion:

  • candidate-to-conversation;
  • conversation-to-interview;
  • interview-to-contract;
  • contract-to-activation;
  • activation-to-production;
  • 30- and 90-day retention.

The stage definitions must remain stable. If “interview” sometimes means booked and sometimes means attended, the cost trend will be misleading.

A worked example

The following is illustrative—not a benchmark, forecast, or AgentATM result.

An agency spends $2,000 on a recruiting source and assigns 20 internal hours at a chosen loaded labor value of $50 per hour.

Total recruiting investment = $2,000 + (20 × $50) = $3,000

The cohort produces:

  • 40 conversations;
  • 18 attended interviews;
  • 8 contracts;
  • 4 activated agents;
  • 2 agents who meet the agency's written productive-agent standard.

The resulting costs are:

  • $75 per conversation;
  • about $166.67 per attended interview;
  • $375 per contract;
  • $750 per activated agent;
  • $1,500 per productive agent.

The most important next question is not whether $75 per conversation is “good.” It is where the funnel loses qualified people and whether the productive-agent economics work for that agency.

If interviews are low, inspect response speed, scheduling, and candidate fit. If contracts are low, inspect the interview and opportunity. If activation is low, inspect contracting, onboarding, leads, technology, and manager ownership.

Compare services with a buyer scorecard

Score every option on the same criteria:

  1. Exact deliverable
  2. Candidate segment and targeting
  3. License-data source and freshness
  4. Agency work required
  5. First-response requirement
  6. CRM and data ownership
  7. Message and compliance ownership
  8. Setup time and contract term
  9. Guarantee definition and exclusions
  10. Reporting by funnel stage
  11. Total external and internal cost
  12. Cost per activated and productive agent

Run a controlled pilot when practical. Keep the candidate segment, managers, and definitions as stable as possible. Do not change the offer, follow-up cadence, and source simultaneously and then attribute the result to only one variable.

When AgentATM's price model may fit

AgentATM's current starter model may fit an agency that:

  • is recruiting licensed agents now;
  • has at least $1,500 available;
  • can respond quickly;
  • can present a clear and truthful opportunity;
  • has a current license and suitability verification process;
  • can onboard and support the agents it chooses to pursue;
  • wants recruiting leads, alerts, digital setup and guidance; any CRM or appointment-setting scope must be agreed in writing.

It is less likely to solve the immediate problem when the agency cannot call promptly, lacks a clear opportunity, has no onboarding path, or expects a guaranteed hire or production result.

Frequently asked questions

How much does it cost to recruit a licensed life insurance agent?

There is no single market price because the unit varies. A state contact list can cost hundreds of dollars, managed outreach can cost thousands per month, and placement services may charge around a hire or active agent. Compare total cost at the same funnel stage.

What is a reasonable cost per recruiting conversation?

There is no universal benchmark that determines value. Calculate the full cost per conversation and then trace that cohort to interviews, contracts, activations, production, and retention. A higher conversation cost may be economical if downstream quality is stronger.

Are insurance agent lists cheaper than recruiting services?

They often have a lower purchase price because they deliver data rather than managed outreach or conversations. The agency must add its own labor, infrastructure, compliance process, CRM, follow-up, and conversion cost.

How do I calculate cost per productive agent?

Divide total recruiting investment for a defined cohort by the number of agents in that cohort who meet the agency's written productive-agent standard during a stated period.

What does AgentATM cost?

The AgentATM trial provides 50 recruiting leads for $1,500 one-time ($30 per lead). Monthly plans provide 150 leads for $3,500/month, 250 for $5,000/month, or 500 for $8,000/month. For 1,000+ leads, get a custom quote. Plans include alerts, digital setup and recruiting-process guidance to support your agency’s follow-up, with timing and scope defined in your written order terms. Leads are not guaranteed conversations, appointments or hires. AgentATM does not offer lead replacements or credits; your agency works the leads. The optional AgentATM CRM ($500 one-time) supports booking, drip campaigns and follow-up. Renewal, billing and cancellation for monthly plans follow your written order terms.

Does AgentATM guarantee hires?

No. Its current public scope states that recruiting leads are not guaranteed replies, completed conversations, appointments, hires, contracts, sales, production, retention, revenue, or other business outcomes.

Compare the Recruiting Unit

A contact record, recruiting conversation, booked call, and placement are different products with different agency workloads. Use the life insurance recruiting leads vs. conversations vs. appointments vs. placements comparison before comparing unit prices.

Is Agent Recruiting Profitable?

Unit price is only one part of the answer. Use the life insurance agent recruiting profitability guide to connect acquisition cost with activation, production, retention, and agent lifetime economics.

CTA: Calculate your current cost per productive agent first. If the diagnosed constraint is a shortage of consistent licensed-agent recruiting leads—and your agency can follow up and onboard well—review the current AgentATM starter scope.

Current AgentATM recruiting-lead prices

Choose a lead volume your agency can follow up with consistently. All listed plans deliver recruiting leads for licensed remote life insurance agents.

AgentATM pricing in USD — updated October 2, 2026
Plan Recruiting leads Price Package cost per lead
Trial 50 total $1,500 one-time $30.00
150-lead monthly plan 150 per month $3,500/month About $23.33
250-lead monthly plan 250 per month $5,000/month $20.00
500-lead monthly plan 500 per month $8,000/month $16.00
Custom plan 1,000+ or tailored volume Request a custom quote Defined in your quote

Cost per lead is the package price divided by its lead count, before your agency's labor and other costs. A recruiting lead is not a guaranteed reply, completed conversation, appointment, hire, productive agent or revenue. Your agency handles follow-up, interviews, current license verification, contracting, onboarding and compliance.

Plans include recruiting-process guidance, digital setup, and text and email alerts. We contact you for onboarding within 1 business day, and lead delivery starts within 72 hours after onboarding. AgentATM does not offer lead replacements or credits, and hires are not guaranteed; your agency works the leads. The optional AgentATM CRM ($500 one-time) supports booking, drip campaigns and follow-up. Renewal, billing and cancellation for monthly plans follow your written order terms. The trial is a one-time purchase. Review the linked product for current pricing and scope.

Check your agency's fit · Read setup and delivery FAQs